Colonoscopy News

I had my first colonoscopy since my original cancer diagnosis last week and they found a polyp, but it was removed and determined to be non-cancerous.  Thank God! 🙂    I have to say that I was really sweating this one and the week prior to the exam I was a basket-case, and with my Dad passing a few weeks ago as well, it’s been a stressfull time for sure.

I met with my oncologist, Dr. Huff, after my colonoscopy  and asked if my survial odds have increased, and he said unfortunately they haven’t.  Primarily because I terminated my second round of chemo (about a year ago) because it was making me extremely sick and he felt (and I agreed) that it was doing me more harm than good at the time.   I know my odds aren’t that great to make it to my 5-year anniversary, but they’re just numbers, and numbers don’t take in personal strength and fortitude.

He said making my two-year anniversary is huge (June 20th)  because cancer comes back in the first 18-months to two years in 75% of patients.  He also said to be cautiously optimistic for now, but understand that my DNA has changed forever and that I’ll living with cancer the rest of my life.

Overall I’m feeling better and gaining weight (I’m wearing my “fat” pants now 🙂 ) but Dr. Anderson I could start my diet and start losing weight, which I’m looking forward to.

Thanks again to everyone for the email and comments here, I really do appreciate them.

Dale

P.S. The picture below is from my Dad’s memorial service a few weeks ago.

Dale

Published in: on February 10, 2009 at 4:33 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dalezjc.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/colonoscopy-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey! You Look Marvelous! I am glad to hear that things are going good and that you’re feeling better. You’ve got the right attitude and you’re a fighter…those things are so important.
    Keep smiling!

    Kath

  2. Hi Kath,

    I’m definitely a fighter and I’m gonna beat this thing!

    Dale

  3. Hi Dale –

    You had a birthday last week; April 3, yes? Just how many candles did you lay to waste? 8^)

    Rose

  4. Yes, I’m 29…once more. Thanks for remembering!

    Dale

  5. Hello,
    I have a question about your blog. Please email me at davdhaas@gmail.com
    Thanks,
    David


Leave a comment